Malaysia Rally Day 2 – It’s about strength, but above all… spirit

It’s Day 2 of the rally. My colleagues woke at the crack of dawn. No wait. Yours truly had to wake them up at the crack of dawn!! Then a quick breakfast at the hotel lobby and off to Saujana it was for Rally Day 2.

Feeding me info from site, I find out that it’s a wet morning over there. My favourite friend McRae (Sorry Bill, you’re now in second place…:p) who was leading yesterday did SS9 and  SS10 with impressive timing.  Then disaster struck as he was revving to launch. All of a sudden the engine died followed by smoke from the engine compartment. And so we sadly watched McRae retire from the race due to a damaged radiator that caused the engine to fail just before SS11. At SS10, McRae took a big jump and when the car landed the impact caused damage to the radiator. This is after all motorsports, everything being pushed to it’s limits and all.

And we’re proud of McRae’s achievements, because despite everything, he finished the Special Stages in the fastest time among all the other drivers…:-)

So we now wait in hope for Atkinson, who at the time this post was written, is in 3rd position. And of course, keeping the Malaysian flag flying high on a Sunday morning.

I’ll be back later with more updates. Meanwhile, we leave you with a picture of Bill looking dramatic…:D

 

About Proton Motorsports

PROTON Motorsports is dedicated to bring together motorsports enthusiasts to experience PROTON's journey around the toughest motorsports events around the world.

Posted on April 25, 2010, in Malaysian Rally, Proton R3 Malaysia Rally Team. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Bugger about the radiator… another great “what if…” still well done on day 1..

    Must practice looking more dramatic Bill..

    Will follow the rally exploits here.. or see you on the Trails…

    Mike

  2. i’m very proud of proton.

  3. mehrdad farivar rad

    In the name of God

    To the kind attention of managing director

    Dear sir,
    With the warmest regards
    This is a letter from Iran,the land of legends,athletes,poats,beautis and the
    Cradle of art, culure,seven thousand years old with the most hospitale people
    In the world.
    Im the greatest and most loyal fan of you and your nice products all around the world.
    perhaps you have never known that there is a man, some where in the world,

    who always think about you and hope your succes day by day in all fields.
    my name is Mehrdad Farivar rad my main jop is writing poems,novels,screenplays
    and long stories. im also a professional champion in this field.
    one of my greatest wishes is driving with (gen2), my favorite model,
    which is tuned and sound of its guaking exhaust shakes the ground. i try to
    gain it as soon as possible.

    I wish your progress in all fields day by day because I consider myself as one of

    the membres of your company ,(proton),and I will get happy with your success and sad
    with your recession or any bad news from you.
    Every human lives with his dreams so every day i imagine that i am walking on
    the stone pavement of your big factory happily, and if there is an opportunity,
    I want to be as your products representative in Iran.
    I am waiting for your kind reply.I want to have your catalog and be in contact
    with your respectful manager directly, if it is possible. I hope I can have the
    responsibility of your prapaganda in my competitions,art and writings as one of
    your serious fans all over the world.
    I have some suggestions for you but at first.I loke to congratulate to all of
    the members of your great factory for their hard work. I want you to understand
    that how much your success is important for me and from now on, I am waiting for
    your reply impatiently.
    It is not far that I come to visit you but now I am not ready for coming.
    However It is goo to know that there are some who concern about your successs

    and it is important for them.
    I want the catalog of your products and i want toi know how I can be an active
    representative of you in my country,Iran.

    hope for more cooperation
    best regards,

Leave a Reply

