Who’s who at Ypres Rally

Ypres rally is barely two weeks away so let’s take a look at the who’s who shall we.

First up, we know that IRC is known as the championship for Super 2000 cars and the Super2000 category is the most important category in the rally.

The lineup of drivers begin with Juho Hanninen and Jan Kopecky who will be in Ypres for Skoda as well as Guy Wilks(recovering from injury after Sardinia crash) who gets the backing of Skoda UK. Belgian “Fast” Freddy Loix and Bernd Casier, known to be very fast on Ypres roads. There’s also Didier Van Wijnsberghe, Dutch champion Mark Van Eldik and Antonin Tlusák and Pavel Odlozilik, both participants to the European Rally Championship.

Kris Meeke from Ireland will be behind the wheel of the Peugeot 207 Super2000. Kris Meeke was the winner of Ypres in 2009. WRC star Sebastien Ogier, the very fast Frenchman, Belgians Pieter Tsjoen and Patrick Snijers and Thierry Neiville are among the other big names in the rally scene. Other names include Peugeot’s Bruno Magalhaes of Portugal, Daniel Oliveira of Brasil, Corrado Fontana of Italy and Austrian Franz Wittman.

Andreas Mikkelson with an M-Sport Fiesta will be driving for Ford in Super2000. Michal Solowow and Maciej Oleksowicz from Poland will be driving their own Fiesta S2000. And then of course, there’s our very own superstars in our Proton Satria Neo S2000. The third Proton will be driven by British privateer, teen sensation, Tom Cave, whom we recently featured in this blog.


About Proton Motorsports

PROTON Motorsports is dedicated to bring together motorsports enthusiasts to experience PROTON's journey around the toughest motorsports events around the world.

Posted on June 14, 2010, in General, IRC, Proton R3 Malaysia Rally Team and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    I’m webmaster of the frenchspeaking website http://www.rallywave.eu and of the news blog http://news.rallywave.eu .

    I would like to update the news and the presentation of your team.

    So could you include news@rallywave.eu in your mail distribution list.

    So could you please send at news@rallywave.eu :

    * the press releases concerning your team

    * if necessary, the login and password of the restricted areas of your website


  2. This weekend i go to Classic Lotus Festival at Snetterton , so i wish the team all the best at Braine Le Compte .
    Hope to meet Prévot and the team at the shake-down in Nieuwkerke- Heuveland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: